My Long Hiatus

It’s been a long time since I last posted on this blog.  My excuse?  I quit my job, gave away most of my belongings, and moved to Hawaii with my boyfriend who I have only been dating a few months.  This is not typical behavior for me, folks!  I usually am the type of person to over analyze and play it safe by not making drastic changes in my life for fear of regretful consequences.

Last winter I felt I was in a rut.  I did not really enjoy my job which I had gone to school for many years to achieve.  I went through many terrible and embarrassing online dates with pretentious Portland dudes.   I craved change for the better and sunshine to replace the Pacific Northwest’s dreary climate.  With only myself and my cat to look after and my 30th birthday approaching next year, I made the decision to make my life what I always wanted it to be.  I wanted to move to Hawaii.

I had never been to Hawaii, but some places have reputations that precede them.  Hawaii is no exception.  I booked a flight for myself for a 3 day weekend to Honolulu with my tax return.  I didn’t have much PTO to use at the time, but I could not wait.  I also could not wait to make plans to go with anyone else.  I knew I had to see Hawaii ASAP so I could try to find a place to live and work.  I fell in love with Hawaii instantly.

It was this past spring that I started hanging out with my boyfriend.  By total coincidence he shared my dream of living in Hawaii as well.  He applied for a transfer with his job to Honolulu and got it.  I decided to go with him and we made the great step of deciding to live together.  In late August we moved to Hawaii.

I have spent the last couple months getting our house together, getting myself a job, exploring Oahu, and visiting Minnesota to be the maid of honor in my sister’s wedding.  The job hunt has been a bit slow, but I will be starting my new job as a dietitian after Thanksgiving!  My boyfriend and I are very happy; my cat also seems content with the move.  I rarely make important, life-changing, decisions on impulse, but I am so happy that I did!

Leave a Reply

